City of Salem Calls for Increased Review for Coal Exports

20130325_185429Last night the 9 member Salem City Council voted unanimously to pass a letter supporting Governor Kitzhaber’s call for an area-wide Environmental Impact Statement.

Mayor Peterson encouraged the rest of the Council to vote with her.  She also enclosed resolutions from 15 Salem Neighborhood Associations that had passed resolutions in the past couple months urging the Council to take action.

It was a packed house, with about 70+ people in attendance. Dr. Andy Harris testified about the health impacts (thanks, Regna & Oregon PSR!), Rev. Janet Parker testified about the moral importance of stopping coal exports, a Salem Neighborhood Association leader testified, Evan White & Hans West testified, among others. Linda Coons made sure that everyone had a sticker on.

We can now add Salem to the list of the more than 30 other cities, counties, and other entities that have expressed concern or opposition about coal exports!

A HUGE congratulations to everyone who made this happen.   It took a lot of work to get to this point.

Congratulations, especially to Evan White, Hans West, Eric Spivak and Jim Scheppke for their outstanding leadership of the Salem Beyond Coal Task Force and careful, strategic work to get Neighborhood Associations and Councilmembers on board.  Evan White and Hans West have worked tirelessly over recent weeks to make this happen.

Hats off, of course, to Lucy Sedgewick, Green Corps organizer who worked on the Sierra Club Beyond Coal campaign in Salem in the fall.  Lucy kick started all of this work and built up a team of leaders and volunteer activists in Salem who brought this campaign over the finish line.

And congrats and a huge thanks to all of the volunteers of the Salem Beyond Coal Task Force who worked hard on the phones, on the pavement, talking with hundreds if not thousands of people — business owners, faith leaders, and so on, and mobilizing the grassroots effort that led to this win.

4 Responses to City of Salem Calls for Increased Review for Coal Exports

  1. Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new
    posts.

  2. If you are going for most excellent contents like I do, only go to see this website
    everyday since it presents feature contents, thanks

  3. Howdy this is somewhat of off topic but
    I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  4. Howdy I am so delighted I found your website, I really found you by error,
    while I was browsing on Bing for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a incredible post and a all round
    enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and
    also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

